top of page
  • Drew Malcolm

Mani Bisschops Wins Nationals

Perth Kite Racing took a podium clean sweep at the recent 2017 Kiteboarding Australia KiteFoil Championships, held on Botany Bay, Sydney. Mani Bisschops, 17, won his first Australian title with a dominating display of speed and consistency throughout the event. 2016 Australian Champion, Andy Hansen, took second place, with Alty Frisby taking 3rd.

Drew Malcolm, Andrew Cooksey and Phil Rowlands raced hard to take home 5th, 6th and 7th position respectively. Sydney-sider Jordan Girdis was the only non-PKR member able to crack the top 8, with a 4th, tied on points with Alty but narrowly missing out with the count-back.

Held in conjunction with the final stop of the Hydrofoil Pro Tour for 2017, racing was held in almost entirely 12-15knot seabreezes. This provided for fast and tactical racing, with mistakes costing hugely throughout the event.

This dominant display on the Australian racing scene made several international competitors stand up and take notice. We must be doing something right!

63 views0 comments
bottom of page